The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue whether questioning authority by the people of society enhances the well being of the society or not. Indisputably, not questioning the authority can enable authority to make quick decisions. Nevertheless, not questioning the authority can make the authority a monarchy. Thus, I generally agree that questioning the authority by people of society will enhance the well being of society.

First of all, questioning the authority keeps the authority on its toes and make them liable and responsible towards society's betterment. The representatives are chosen to run the authority with the sole purpose of serving towards betterment of society. To illustrate, let us look at example of a state governor chosen to run the state. As a public representative the governor is liable to answer to the questions from the residents of the state and must work towards betterment of the state. citizens of the state asks question to their governor via multiple mediums and the governor responds to those questions.

Furthermore, if a representative in a position of authority is not questioned by the people it can turn the set up to a monarchy. For example, Adolf Hitler turned into a dictator and made himself so strong as none of his actions and policies were ever questioned by the citizens of Germany.

Also, questioning the authority allows for exchange of ideas which can lead to improvements. One such example can be public open forum conducted by minister of state which allows common people of the state to question the minister on existing policies. such discussion and questions provoke ideas and bring about change which is helpful for society.

In conclusion, although opening the authority to public questioning can hamper the speed at which the authority can take decisions. As long as some measures and thresholds are set, questioning the authority can be very fruitful. In fact, questioning the authority can bring about a change which can result in enhancing the society.