People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

It is an age old saying that Man is a social animal. Human beings tend to be surrounded in company of each other. Not many people like to be aloof and alone. As we come in contact of other individuals, we tend to learn new things good and bad. Every day, every minute there is some kind of human interaction that occurs in a normal person's life as a result there is a direct or indirect impact on the individual. These interactions and experiences teach an individual multiple thing which gets into the subconscious mind and plays an important role in an individual's behavioural development as well as in overall personality development.

To elaborate further consider the kids who are raised in a family of military personnel, it is noted that those kids are more disciplined and active compared to kids who are raised in a civilian family. This difference is mainly due to the environment in which the kids are raised. What the kids see they learn and that becomes part of the personality and hence drives the behaviour.

Similarly, the way in which a person respond to a situation is mostly driven by the experience the person might have had in the past or might have learnt from someone close in a similar situation. Very often we see that a kid reacts pretty much in the same way as the parent react when exposed to a similar situation. This again is something which comes naturally to the kid as part of kid's constant interaction with his parents. Also, when we consider a larger group of individual there also, we observe similar trait where in people from same society have similar behaviour or reaction to a situation.

One may argue that behaviour is a personal trait and it cannot be driven by external factors. Such an argument can be negated by considering an example of a poor individual. When given a penny or a dollar the reaction and action of that beggar will be totally different when compared to someone who is well off. This difference in reaction and action is only because of difference in individual’s circumstance and surrounding.

To conclude, the behaviour of an individual is very much dependent on external factors that surround the individual or the factors to which the individual is exposed to. Many such factors contribute in the development of a reaction (from the individual) to a situation there by impacting the behaviour of the person.