The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The sentence talks about the role of people in questioning the authority. I obviously agree with statement given. Every individual have to question the authority out of their right to do so which leads to efficient functioning of the every governmental and non-governmental organization. Questioning the authority also enhances the awareness among the citizens of the society of how different aspects of the developments play a crucial role in the well being of the society. This kind of awareness certainly enhances the well being of the society and puts it on high moral standards.

When citizens of a country are not given any right to question the authority it leads to impeding in the pace of development. This is because the people in the authority may behave as if they are the monarchs and every decision is made out of their self-interest and self-benefits. And we can never claim for the authority as those monarch authorities employee nepotism and keeps the power in their hands always.

When the constitutional laws of a country provides no power of questioning the seething people may suddenly burst out of anger on the authority. People come out to roads and mass protests raise to oust the authorities in power. These kind of situations make the country unstable and may even lead to nadir of those authorities and in country's fortune.

Consider a situation that happened in the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh state of India. The then Congress president Sonia Gandhi made the decision to bifurcate the state with the doors of the parliament closed to any second opinions. This led the Congress party securing minimal seats than ever in AP and also in Telangana. And the party is now in dead state and there seems no way for it's fortune.

A well being of the society depends on the active coordination between citizens and authority. For this every citizen has to be provided with a right to question.