The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is about the coverage of the telivision station's news. As it is mentioned, the station has devoted less time to weather and loacal news. During late nights most of the people won't be watching TV's. Most of them who are watching late night news are one who were busy all the day in their works. So they would certainly want to know about each and every aspect of the news. So they might have been raising complaints to devote equal times to every aspect.

The contrasting view for this is , the argument doesn't really mention what are the complaints about station's coverage of weather and local news. They might not want to see them anymore. They might want the station to devote even less time to them. For this reason the local businesses thought that it would be no longer useful to advertising on Tv's and so they went on canceling their contracts. Here there is no clear view of what the complaints could be.

Restoring the time devoted to weather and local news is not a good idea until we know what are the demands of the viewers. For this a survey has to be conducted to know whether the viewers want fewer or lot more waether and local business news. Hiding this true complexity one cannot blindly go on to increase the time to weather news as that may make the situation even worse.

Instead of restoring former time to weather news and business news. The station could be more creative in showing the national news if that's what the viewers need. As late nights are reserved more for entertainments and weather,business news are not ceratainly entertaining for the viewer. So they should've adopt an entertaining ways to attract the people.

Some might think generating revenue is everthing, some might think providing legit content through their channel is important than revenue. As this argument talks about the former type, the more advertising contracts they've with them the more money is gonna be generated. But the argument here doesn't provide a clear insight of what the real issue is.And it has failed to provide lots of evidences to the base content of the argument, so I consider this argument invalid.