The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Society can be broadly be divided into two strata – people in power and the ordinary multitude. The general public elect their representatives to formulate laws for a better well off living, and hence, it becomes the fundamental right of the people to question the authorities and be heard and answered.

The Government is an intricate, multi-layered highly functioning complex body whose fundamental duty is to cater to the well-being of the society at large. However, the government often fails to notice issues which might not be as significantly important in its functioning as it is to the society. It is at this juncture where the interests of the people in authority supersedes that of the society. Without the proper instruments of asking questions and channelizing doubts to the authority, what follows are protests, vandalism and destruction of state property, as seen when Government tries to hide figures during inflation, economic depressions, natural calamity or world-wide pressing phenomenon. Hence, with proper questioning, both parties can mitigate pressing problems and enhance mutual well-being.

The society will benefit at large when people question the political machinery – the efficient voting system, what changes the current ruling party are aiming at, fund allocations for a new financial year, changes in tax structures and the market economy, trade relations and ties between different countries, how effective the defence systems are or whether the nation is prepared for an impending nuclear strike. Undoubtedly, people will develop a sense of security and trust on the current Government if their questions hinted at the legal system –whether justice is imparted equally to all and the efficiency of implementation of human rights, are effectively answered. The consistent pressurization by the people has led to the formulation of Right to Information (RTI) act, or the setting up of consumer forum associations. Questions regarding the safety of women, having been around for several decades, have stirred up the Government to pass the woman rights bill. Thus, people stand to benefit when they question authority.

No Government can function without the support of the people, and hence, the common mass constitute the most important parameter of any governance, and answering questions and grievances form the fundamental duty of the authority. Often there are issues to which the public should not be aiming questions at, as it would violate the efficient running of a nation. However, society stands to gain when people actively participate in issues such embracing education policies, or technological progress and art after they question the prevailing education system, the advancements in technology and science, the Government’s contribution to art and culture, and effectiveness of the allocation of funds to various domains. In India, questioning the authority about the inefficient mid-day meal quality in various schools have been answered by efficient allocation of funds to the states and better regulation of food quality. Active participation of people, thus, is deemed necessary for a well-off life.

The advantages of questioning the authority are manifold. People will have clearer views of the political functioning and the legal and social activities of the Government. A greater understanding will enhance greater participation of the people in concord the Government. This will help people to direct their grievances against certain unsatisfactory practises or suggest changes to already incorporated laws. Suggestions and opinions from the common people will help the authorities to cater to the interest of the society in a better manner. Moreover, there are possibilities of newer outcomes and ideas from people which the Government can embrace. Questions can be raised against inefficient practices, corruptions and scandals which often plague the governance, and efficient solutions and actions can be sought.

Hence, indubitably the society stands to benefit when questions are raised. For a betterment of the people at large, it is advisable on the people’s part to question and encourage questions and foster curiosity about the governance.