Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Perhaps one of the most unique motifs learned from previous generations is to be conservative and risk averse. Our grandparents grew up in an era characterized by arranged marriages, the military draft and a unique interpretation of what is considered normal by society. Conversely, our era is defined by disrupting societal norms and resetting the paradigm of society. Life is short, and people should not sit idly and accept what is adequate; we should be driven for excellence.

The prompt encourages our youth to work towards realistic goals that will establish one's future. This is counterintuitive to human nature. Most, if not all, people strive for similar things: we want to be recognized, we wanted to leave a legacy and we want power. To accept realistic goals is to cede to mediocrity. For instance, take the Oklahoma City Thunder head coach Billy Donovan. Once he graduated from college, he accepted a job working on Wall Street to appease his parents. Realizing his true passion, he quit and ended up in an assistant coach position for Marshall. He worked his way up to a head coach position, establishing a winning culture and eventually making his way to the University of Florida. There, he would make the NCAA tournament numerous times and winning the national championship twice in a row. Today, he is a promising coach for a playoff bound franchise in the NBA. Life should not be a cycle of just running through the motions; embrace the challenge of following your dreams and achieving improbable goals.

Furthermore, if culture dismisses those who seek out their aspirations, where would our artists go? Artists, writers, athletes - these occupations are some of the most challenging fields to break into. Jean-Michel Basquiat was a young, black artist aspiring to make a living off of his passions. His confound art was incomparable to any predecessors. Today, he is known as one of the greatest contemporary artists of all time. Being a minority in a race-stricken time, his success was not granted. Hard-work, vigor and tenacity led him to greatness. Had Basquiat not tenaciously pursued art, he could have left this world unbeknownst to others.

One of the most well known aphorisms is: "Luck is when hard work meets opportunity." People are motivated by their interests. True innovators have a passion so intense that they can't refrain from studying religiously, completely engulfing their life in their goals. For instance, Warren Buffet had such a fervor for picking stocks that he rushed through college because it got in the way of his dream. Had Buffet been encouraged to set realistic goals, he might be an accountant. Innovation is led by those who set unthinkable goals. Elon Musk was sued by NASA because he intended to privatize space travel. NASA was underfunded and Musk understood that the space industry was not evolving. His company, SpaceX, now sits alone at the top of the industry. Unrealistic goals are only unbelievable until they are achieved.

Dreams, passions and aspirations should never be tempered. Goals should be met with glut; we should strive to overachieve. Perhaps Kanye West said it best: "Shoot for the stars, and if you fall, you will land on the clouds." Setting realistic goals creates a society of diffidents, and it is imperative to foster learning and innovation.