Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

It is a human nature to accomplish work by putting as less effort as it is needed to do it; we (humans) always want to move through a short-cut path. In that sense, it can be asserted that it is human propensity to “seek immediate fame and recognition” rather than “pursue long-term realistic goals”, that requires higher effort and time. However, short-term fame has many disadvantages attached with it, that makes it a lesser worthy accomplishment than long-term goals.

Firstly, encouraging short-term fame among youth aids in eliminating the culture of hard-work, inviting tendency to work with lesser effort and expect better results. But, less effort, most of the times, doesn’t give better results. This failure to gain better results can make youth vulnerable to tension and anxiety. In this twenty-first century, for instance, there are myriad of ways to gain fame overnight- one can put a video on youtube, post one interesting post in social media or anything as such, and majority of youth tend to try these procedures to gain short-term fame, but rarely such efforts give any sensible outcome. This may invite sadness, anxiety and sense of low self-esteem among youths. So, it is always better to encourage youths to pursue long-term goals with harder effort, as success is much more guaranteed in it than any efforts for short-term fame.

Similarly, short-term fame remains for a very short period of time, after which one returns to same position as before. The characters of many YouTube viral videos, for instance, remain famous in the platform for a very short period of time. Sudden plunge in fame and popularity, in many instances, becomes the cause of sadness and depression in many youths. A singer named Yama in Nepal, for instance, was very popular for one song that he had published in youtube, but he couldn’t give continuity to the quality that he had delivered in first instance. That slowly dwindled his fame among public, and eventually led him to depression. But, there are many famous singers in Nepal (like Narayan Gopal) who struggled a lot to reach to their position and eventually had an indelible footprint in their field.

Finally, though it might seem worthy to work for short term fame that gives us height of success with lesser effort, short-term fame eliminates the culture of hard-work, doesn’t guarantee success, and even if someone achieves, it is ephemeral nature. Therefore, it is always worthy to put harder effort to gain long-term goals that are indelible and satisfying.