Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Currently, along with significant improvements in technology, popular events are helping to remove international tensions and patriotism’s emotions in a proper path. I personally believe that international sporting occasions will develop relationships among different countries.

First and foremost, it is obvious that international sporting events have involved a large part of our life. To be more exact, a large number of people from all over the world see and listen these occasions through TV, radio, newspaper and even more interested fans tend to be in sporting stadiums during these matches. So, such events will give birth to good result in people communications and to a large extent enmities and resentments among nations will decline. In addition to this, from political point of view governments will be neared more and more to one another. If my memory helps me, Olympic Games are held every 4 years and this event is a good place for exchanging cultures.

Although a lot of researchers believe that there are some drawbacks and governments should concentrate to find ways for removing them. One of the most impractical characteristics is that some teams and athletes tend to win under any conditions. For example, some athletes use immoral methods or illegal drugs to win in fantastic events such as football world cup and Olympics. Supplementary to this, a further handicap would be commercial aspects of matches. A number of sportsmen and their coaches consider only financial situations to play or lead a team. These measures in turn have detrimental effects on societies.

To cut long story short, I personally believe that beneficial aspects of international sporting occasions outweigh shortcomings. Enemies and resentments during these events will be vanished.