Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and provide relevant examples from your own experience?

Our environment has been exposed to serious damages in this decade, thanks to industrial revolution. Although, several measures have been taken to minimize the detrimental effects, it is well beyond the repair now. Despite the fact that government have enormous leverage to control and limit the damage, I am convinced that each individual has responsibility to preserve our nature.

To begin with, let us examine the government’s interventions in preserving the environment. Already many measures and rules like pollution check in vehicles and securing natural resources are imposed by the government in effective manner. Further, government made rain water harvesting as mandatory in every house. Finally, government also prosecutes individuals and organizations involving in natural resources trafficking. Despite imposing several protocols, it is unfortunate that depletion of our natural resources is inevitable.

However, I strongly believe individuals can make difference by following certain principles as mentioned further. Reduce, reuse and recycle is the first and foremost concept which will help preserving our planet. Firstly, if an individual reduces the consumption of non- renewable resources, it will certainly benefit our environment as well as, our expenses. Secondly, avoiding plastic carry bags, a non-degradable waste, will reduce burden of our mother nature. For instance, I have personally witnessed a person who has planted more than 300 trees. This savior act by an individual inspires one and all.

To conclude, in my opinion, government alone cannot make difference in saving our nature. Nevertheless; it is individuals’ duty to reduce the adverse effect and leave our planet unpolluted to the future generation