Some people believe that exploring outer space is important because it expands human knowledge and might lead to discoveries that will benefit humanity in the future. Other people believe that space exploration is a waste of money that could be better spent solving immediate problems here on Earth.

Irrefutably, all around the globe there is a growing debate about justification of money that is being spent to explore interstellar space. Considering this, many analysts insist it will be more prudent to invest the fund for more pressing issues of planet earth such as people’s welfare and nation’s development. However I strongly disagree with the with the above mentioned notion and believe the funds that are being invested on the exploration or outer space should not be compromised with other necessities; there should be separate budget for it.

To begin with, space exploration can certainly benefit on Nation’s development and on its habitats in numerous ways. Satellite and navigations are the living example as they have been an integral part of mankind’s life. In the same way, we can also learn earth’s atmosphere from space exploration. Earth’s temperature allows liquid water to remain on the surface. Mars and Venus, the planet closest to the Earth, have no liquid water on their surfaces. By comparing the earth with those planets we can see how liquid water has affected the development of the Earth’s atmosphere.

Despite above mentioned benefits, there are people who contend the experiments of space research and are in favor of fulfillment of people’s basic needs that are not up to the standards in many nations. Provision of educational facilities, medical aid, food, shelter and many other commodities are scarce in many nations. However, this event could not be neglected that every country has its fixed quota of public funds to be utilized on public welfare, if yes; would it be judicious to limit space exploration funds and consider this a surplus expense? My answer would be no.

Having considered the above mentioned notions, it is not difficult to deny that public funds should not be spent on space exploration. Eventually, space exploration will invite new technology and innovations which can be highly beneficial to human beings.