Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Without a doubt, the search for manual workforce has decreased since the involvement of technological advancements and automation. Accordingly, people believe a cut in working hours is necessary. However, I completely disagree with this opinion.

To begin with, the decrease of working hours has made many adverse impacts on the economy and government in a long run. Nowadays, automation is mostly applied in installation process. In the past, these jobs were usually inclined to be executed by the low class of society. If working time is being reduced, the blue-collar worker will be subjected to suffer from such risks as salary cut or even workforce downsizing. As a result, the gap between the rich and the poor will be increase significantly over time. Consequently, lower income means less money to spend. This will lead to imbalance between the demand and supply of the market. In addition, the tax which collected from worker’s income will become limited which means there are less sustainable funds to support infrastructure.

Moreover, lowering the amount of working hours will degenerate human society. The factors that drive a society forward are working, creative and exploration. Cutting down a person’s working hours can obsess them with the thought that they are made redundant, as all the job can be done with the help of machinery. The idea will grow and expand continuously through generations. Take the movie Wall-E for as an example. In the movie, there is a society where artificial intelligent and machinery do all the works and people just become fat and lazy. This could be the potential of our society as well if we reducing the involvement of human in working process.

It is far from clear how and when the result of reducing working hours will impact us. Like all other new ideas, it take time to be proven correct or not. At present, I believe the idea should not be adopted.