All over the world, the number of overweight people is growing. What do you feel are the main causes of this? What are the effects?

Obesity continues to swell exponentially world over, and this is causing serious financial and health problems. These consequences and major triggers such as eating habits and sedentary lifestyles will be examined in this essay.

Leading dietitians, unanimously, believe that what people have been recently eating is a precursor to obesity. For example, pizza and pasta products have experienced a rapid increase in sales within the last few decades. Ingesting these starchy food products causes surges in levels of insulin, a hormone which enables the body to store more calories. Needless to say, if the origins of obesity are more deeply rooted, lack of physical activity plays another significant role. That is to say, worldwide, there has been a large shift towards less physically demanding work, leading to more accumulation of fat in humans’ bodies. For example, those who have an undemanding desk job or children who watch TV on end are more prone to add weight, according to cited statistics. Thus, less active recreational pursuits or effortless jobs compound with unhealthy food consumption makes a perfect recipe to gain weight.

Although there are numerous negative ramifications of obesity, I feel they can be viewed through two vantage points. The first tangible result of obesity is the multifarious life-threatening health issues witnessed among corpulent people since a wide range of cardiovascular to cancers are linked with corpulence. The negative sides are not limited to an individual’s life, but it, too, affects the economy. This is evidenced by the necessary annual medical costs attributed to obesity-related diseases and overweight prevention programs. In Iran, for instance, obese and overweight people receive billions of dollars in government subsidies on a yearly basis, which outweighs the amount allocated to prevent HIV. These negatives are felt by all levels of society from individuals, to corporations, to governments.

In summary, obesity is the precursor to health and economic problems, and it stems from improper eating habits and a sedentary lifestyle. In my opinion, were healthier diets and sufficient physical activities promoted by the media and educational systems, the issue could be encountered.