All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills, but others think having a range of subjects is better for children’s future. Discuss both sides.

Numerous arguments favour soft skills to be taught in school over theoretical subjects. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this approach.

Schools conventionally follow the theoretical method of teaching. Children are taught by professors who specialise in a particular subject and convey essential information via textbooks. This medium of instruction is frequently accompanied by practical representations in the form of lab work and field trips. Teaching a more voluminous range of subjects enable the students to gain knowledge of various other disciplines such as finance, environment, astronomy, language studies, and many others. Electives can be offered to cultivate the interest of children in a suitable field. The drawback of this approach is that it burdens the child with excessive information and children are then compelled to become rote learners.

The soft skills approach is effective for the child as he progresses through adolescence. It enhances and hones skills such as public speaking, formal communication, content writing, teamwork, leadership skills, and interpersonal skills. These skills are essential for a person to navigate through the corporate world effortlessly and harmoniously. The disadvantage of possessing only soft skills is that it lacks a sturdy foundation of knowledge and wisdom.

The school’s curriculum needs to be balanced adequately. Emphasis should be given to both theoretical and practical skills. The grasping capability of a child is at its highest in the teenage period, important skills such as critical thinking and ethics should be incorporated in the course structure. Subjects such as science and commerce should be periodically updated with the latest data and explained with enthusiasm.

In conclusion, no educational institute should focus only on one method and an integrated approach towards studies should be contemplated for the development of the younger generation.