Space exploration costs taxpayers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no shortage of human suffering on Earth. Issues such as extreme poverty, hunger, wildfires, and many more have plagued humanity. In such times, the government levies taxes on the hardworking citizen to fuel its ambitious space program.

Extraneous spending on unnecessary space exploration has been criticised widely by the lay man. A voyage to mars costs billions of dollars which could be ostensibly used to solve Earthly problems. If the mission fails, every penny put into it becomes worthless. These drawbacks make the taxpayer question the need for such explorations as the money is drawn form the common man’s pocket. No direct advantage of the space program is realised upon the public which works day and night to earn these wages.

Despite of these drawbacks, space programs are crucial for human development. Only 2% of the annual budget is allotted for space explorations. Space exploration has fuelled human imagination and forced man to search the depths of his mind for answers. The artificial earth satellite circling the globe transmits valuable data back to Earth from high altitudes. This data is used to predict natural disasters and calamities. Also, the GPS systems uses 3 satellites to pinpoint a location on Earth, enabling us to reach to our loved ones without getting lost. Pollution levels can be monitored efficiently using satellites. A deeper appreciation for Earth and life is developed through these voyages.

The taxpayer is unaware of how profoundly space impacts life on earth. It acts a catalyst for technological developments and spurs men to expend their best efforts to increase human potential. Therefore, investing in science, is investing in a better future for humanity.