Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others think intelligence can be measured in other ways.

What is intelligence? And how can it be measured? These questions have been debated over many decades by philosophers. However, there is one suitable definition that everyone agreed to. Intelligence can be defined as the ability to perceive or infer information, retain the knowledge, and apply that knowledge appropriately for various tasks. So, is success an apt measure for intelligence? Not in my opinion.

Intelligence is broadly classified and measured as Intelligence Quotient or IQ and Emotional Quotient or EQ. IQ, measures the capacity for logic whereas EQ measures the emotional stability. Varying amounts of both are found in each person. Success is determined by different parameters such as sheer hard-work, perseverance, Ethics, and intelligence. But it is not directly proportional to intelligence.

A study showed that 90% entrepreneurs praise their hard work for the success they accomplished. A scientist on the contrary is quite intelligent but may have not achieved the conventional form of success. This clearly shows how inaccurate success is to measure intelligence.

Success is transient, but intelligence is permanent. It takes a moment’s notice to fall from grace. Thus, basing intelligence on success is not an intelligent thing to do. Creativity is analogous to understanding concepts and processing them to solve novel problems. Therefore, to truly measure intelligence, creativity must be measured. Afterall, creativity is intelligence having fun.