More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve the problem?

Human development has many facets. With the advent of colonisation and urbanisation, the many forests have been cut down to make space for concrete jungles. As a result, wild animals are on the brink of extinction and many more are categorised as endangered species.

A recent study showed that 40% of the animal species are listed as endangered species. A species is endangered if either the predators have increased in number, or loss of habitat or due to climatic conditions. Poaching and hunting have resulted in many gruesome deaths of animals. Elephant tusks, leather and rabbit fur are sold for millions in the black market.

Loss of habitat and changing climatic conditions have further deteriorated the situation. For instance, the melting of the polar ice caps has rendered the polar bears homeless. Global warming has resulted in many deaths and pollution has been choking the marine life. The great pacific patch of plastic has been causing ingestion and fatality in aquatic life.

An effective solution for poaching would be to impose strict rules and heavy criminal penalties against poachers. Also, setting up of national parks and sanctuaries would be beneficial to protect the flora and fauna of the region. Breeding activity should be closely monitored and modified to ensure survival of the species.

Regular monitoring of the animal clan will prove effective in regulating their numbers. Animals on the brink of extinction should be protected with national laws. A combined effort from the people and the governments can ensure animal safety.