Anyone with phones can answer calls for both social and personal purposes at any time. More benefits or drawbacks do you think it will bring to both society and individuals?

It is true that the ever advance of modern tele-communication technology has been enabling people to access their phone whenever they want, where ever they are. Although this development possesses some objectionable features. I believe that there are more merits than drawbacks.

Admittedly, allowing people to reach their phone at any time is associated with certain weakness. To begin with its negative impact on working effectiveness, as answering phone calls distract people’s attention from their works. Thereby jeopardising their working efficiency. If such development did not affect workers’ performances, it would not came up with rule that people have to turn off their phone when they are in conferences. In addition, answering phones momentarily threaten people’s safety. The increasing number of car accidents happened around the world played a vivid example here. It is pointed out that more than 20% of the accidents happened on the road is caused by answering personal phone calls when driving.

Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages, it will bring more benefits to both individuals and society if people can pick up the phone call freely. First of all, this development provides people with a simultaneous communication format, which helps them strengthen the sense of intimation with their beloved ones. For instance, with the regular access to person phone, overseas students are able to contact with their parents living in other time zone no matter what time it is. Moreover, answering phone call at any time enables individuals to exchange timely messages so that they can keep in touch with the latest news and information related to their daily life, thereby improving the quality of their life. Furthermore, allowing people to response to their phone promotes the development of tele-communication industry, which provides a driving force for national economic growth.

In conclusion, although allowing people to pick up their phone calls at any time does possess some drawbacks. I am support of the idea that its advantages overweigh disadvantages.