The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.
Recently, there have been a lot of discussions about health and whether it is going to
improve or not. In my opinion, I think that people will become unhealthier in the future than
they are now.
There are many reasons that support the idea of people becoming unhealthy in the future.
Firstly, one reason is that of food. People tend to eat more fast food nowadays. They tend to
treat themselves with sweets and chocolate whenever they want. This appears to be
because people are busier now than they used to be. So, people don’t have a chance to
cook or even learn the art of cookery. Also, having a lot of unhealthy food can lead to obesity
and it could be a serious issue in the future. Another reason is that technology is developing
everyday. Young people enjoy buying new gadgets and the latest devices. This has a
negative impact on their health, especially when they enjoy video games. Spending long
hours looking at a screen can lead to bad eyesight and obesity as well. Yet another reason
is that laziness is a big issue. Different forms of exercise might disappear in the future
because people don’t like sports. Also, people prefer spending most of their time on the
internet and the internet is growing every single day.
Other people might disagree and say that health will improve in the future. They believe
that new sports and new ways to exercise will appear in the future. However, I don’t think it
can happen since the majority of people spend less time outdoors. Moreover, other people
believe that technology will try and help people improve their health. For example, there
have been some games released on the Wii console that makes people exercise but
technology is developing more in a negative way. For instance, many phone industries are
developing new applications everyday and today’s generation likes to follow every trend.
This prevents people to go outside to exercise. They like to spend more time on the internet
downloading new programmes or reading gossips about celebraties. This affects people’s
health badly.
In conclusion, I believe that people’s health is affected negatively by fast food, technology
and sports and it will be a problem in the future.