Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Purchasing daily essentials, books, clothes, etc. from e-commerce websites is a growing trend. While there exists a considerable amount of disadvantages associated with it, I believe that the advantages clearly outweigh them.

In this era of technology, the use of e-commerce websites to buy materials tends to be a faster and an efficient way. Recently, I decided to replace the chimney at my house. Now, because of the technology, I can just surf over the internet sitting at my house and compare all the different models available in the market without being exhausted which would have been the case if I had traveled across the city from one shop to another. While doing that I would have had to carry a scratchpad to write all the details down about all the chimneys that were shown to me. Another advantage is that there are a lot more options available on the internet than the local stores.

The main disadvantage that bothers people usually deals with queries like, "what if the cloth doesn't fit me?", "what if the order is defective?", etc. At the basic level, all these queries boil down to the topic of return and replacement policy of the shopping website, which nowadays is clearly mentioned and is easily located. If the cloth doesn't fit you, you can return or replace it, if an item is defective, you can do the same. In the current pandemic (Covid-19), online shopping is even more beneficial and less hazardous as you don't have to get out of your house to buy the item. Social distancing is automatically followed which would lead to less spreading of the disease.

Looking at the above statements, I believe it is safe to say that the advantages of e-commerce websites do really outweigh the disadvantages.