A cashless society is one where people use debit/credit cards and other forms of payment instead of cash. Do the advantages of a cashless society outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, with the technological advancement in the banking system, people prefer more using electronically banking card for paying the things that they are purchasing. While I accept that traditional banknotes and coins are still have benefits, I believe that modern payment methods are more convenient than other forms.

On the one hand, cashless society would bring less privacy. When you might trust the organizations that manage your money, they would easily access to your financial transactions. In this case, your payments information is placed on data network. Therefore, the probability of internet banking frauds will be increased. Another downside of credit card is overspending. In other words, when we are careless handing over our card to make a purchase, we are often not aware of how much everything will add up at the end of the month. With cash, you physically see how much you have, and how much your funds are reducing with each purchase.

However, I would argue that these disadvantages are outweighed by advantages. A major benefit of cashless society is that a credit card allows people to afford for things that cost more than the total amount of money available in their bank account. This can be very helpful in many situations. For instance, when someone is far from home and his/her cash have been stolen, with a credit card he/she could afford to buy a flight ticket or whatever he/she needs to return home. Another advantage of cashless society is that international payments would be more easier among different countries across the world. Obviously, when you visit a foreign country, you may need to buy local currency, but payments are easy if both nations can handle cashless transactions. For another, it is now increasingly common for people to shop online where they can not use paper money and coins to pay. So people embrace the modern methods of payment which is more functional.

By way of conclusion, I think that the advantages a having credit card outweigh the disadvantages for those who are able to manage their money.