Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour.

How true is this statement?

How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

It is claimed that colour scheme plays a crucial role for a large number or manufacturers and companies when it comes to advertising their products as colours bring a great impact to customers. From my perspective, I hold a firm belief that the majority of buying decisions nowadays are greatly influences by colours.

For a variety of reasons, numerous organisations in modern era have utilised colour effects as a tool to persuade customers. To begin with, a number of manufaturers and companies, especially those specialising food industry, pay a lot of attention to colour decoration in their packaging. This means that during the process of labelling products, several colours are carefully selected as these manufaturers may have a strong notion that colours represent the main ingredients of what they try to promote. Another industry that might highly consider the influences of colour is fashion. To explain, the main theme of a collection from one fashion company may vary depending on each season. Take summer as an example. Most clothing items are produced with colouful patterns to attract buyers as these products are somehow believed to bring summer vibe to the customers.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, colours have generated great impacts to customers before making final decisions. In certain aspects, colours might triggers people’s senses, resulting in their final decisions whether these customers should make a purchase or not. For instance, vegetables are often attached with the colour green, which may symbolise freshness and convince consumers that the products are newly-harvested. In other words, when purchasing vegetables, most consumers have a tendency to opt for green produces rather than those with darker colours.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that due to the great influences of colours in customers buying decisions, many manufacturers and companies are using colour scheme as a tool in their marketing campaign to attract more customers.