Communication through text messaging and other instant form of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be the death of grammar and spelling

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the emergence of texting and other quick online communication will put an end to grammar and spelling. This essay totally disagrees with that statement because language-related knowledge is still integral at school and necessary in communicating online.

Grammar and spelling will not be abolished because of its academic importance. These, for instance, are critical in test performance at school and are some of the most important criteria in language test such as Ietls and Toeic. Knowing how to write a correct grammar sentence or pronunciate correctly are what children learn during school time and are developed further by practising and doing test at later academic stages. So in a scenario when grammar structure and spelling knowledge of one are absent, it can result in poor performance at school, prompting the loss of job opportunity in the future.

Communicating using advanced technology still relies on language capability. That is to say because online communication such as calling or texting someone requires a certain level of grammar and spelling without which we are not able to communicate due to the lack of knowing and interpreting interpersonal expression. Moreover, online communicating methods such as video calling on Facebook are proportionate to traditional verbal exchange, where we have to convey messages using extensive vocabulary, grammar and spelling. However, it should be noted that texting can aggravate language development because of its short, reduced words and symbols that replaces traditional words

In conclusion, although online communication is fast, short and convenient, it cannot replace the inherent need of grammar and spelling in life. It is recommended that we should text in full word when sending a message to maintain the beauty of traditional language.