The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Men and women are making direct interaction among people obsolete by using social media sites more often. This essay will argue that although those platforms offer a broad connection, I believe that this can not outweigh the drawback of diminishing communication skills

Having access to social networks helps users keep in contact with various relationships. It is indeed that within a smartphone or tablet, people can exchange interactions through online phone calls, or messages despite being distantly segregated. That is to say that instead of arranging traditional meetings just to strengthen relationships, people can sit comfortably at home or workplaces and still form a broad range of society around themselves. For example, I still have a good relationship with my middle school friend through Facebook despite having to schedule a meeting as they moved to a foreign country 10 years ago. However, online interaction can result in an emotionless society because it diminishes the opportunity to interact verbally between people.

Having traditional conversations is an effective way to strengthen communication skills. In other words, communicating in both verbal and non-verbal language can expose people to be more confident and various experiences that can help men and women deal with many circumstances, such as job interviews or even formal conversation with strangers. Whereas people who spend more time on social media can result in being isolated in life, because of the lack of opportunity to communicate, leads to the fear of talking and even showing the most trivial facial expression. For example, Ireland has banned residents from using Facebook or Twitter for a certain time a day to encourage people to go outside and communicate traditionally. This opportunity means that face-to-face conversations are very worthwhile as it helps with individual skills development.

In conclusion, the benefit of easily connecting and developing relationships while using social networks can not outweigh the chance to enhance communication skills, while being in the same physical place.