Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

-comics

-books

-radio

-television

-film

-theatre

Media plays a vital role in disseminating information and enables people to remain informed of the happenings in the world as a result they become more aware and knowledgeable. However, there are various forms of media such as books, radio, television and so on, and each one of them exhibits certain advantages and disadvantages, which I am going to illustrate.

To begin with, television, films and books are the most viable sources of media which in turn make people to live up to date and be familiar with the current affairs. Thus, these media sources furnish manifold fruitful outcomes in people's life. Firstly, television is not only a source of entertainment, but also a pathway of acquiring knowledge about several things such as communication skills, personality skills and so on, which are deemed very essential for someone to be successful. Furthermore, television gives a pragmatic view to the people, thereby they can easily relate their theoretical knowledge and later consolidate it by watching it on television. Secondly, films typically represent the picture of society wherein people can know about the importance of any relation, value, social norm and many more, consequently it constitutes the greatest source of entertainment for the people of every age group, which is again a noteworthy. Thirdly, books make someone more sharp and intelligent, hence good reader can only become a good negotiator and communicator.

On the other hand, these media sources also have certain negative aspects. Firstly, television has become a major cause of distraction among youth, and they blindly try to imitate the things which transpire on television, which is utterly erroneous. In addition, films have now become a centre of violence and hatred, thereby not imperative for the holistic development of people and especially for the young minds. Indeed, books can carry a little problem for those people who face an eye sight problem owing to which sometimes such people find ramification in reading books. In addition, the language of book can be understand by only those people who are knowledgeable, which again amounts to another problem for the laymen.

In conclusion, I opine that media's role is to spread information and therefore it is up to people to take the best out of it,for their betterment. Here, television outstrip other modes of media.