Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In this cutting edge era there is almost no field where computers are not used. Computers have eased the lives of people in countless ways. Yet, there are some areas where computers are misused and may cause harm to the public. This essay will argue that computers are the most important invention of all time.

To begin with, the most important use of computers is communication. A person sitting in a small library in Kenya can communicate with his/her friend in Tokyo through video chatting or via emails. With the advent of computers, the world seems to be a small place. Computers have a great impact in the education sector as well. Teachers and students can access research papers, informative videos and many e-books through computers, which can be downloaded on the local machines for offline use. Virtual learning is the new norm and computers have made it easier for everyone to connect and learn.

If we did not have computers, we would have neither been able to send a man on the moon nor a rover on Mars for exploration. Large mathematical equations that would take years to be solved by a small team of highly intelligent people are done within minutes on a computer. Rocket simulations, asteroid projections and satellite control have been possible only by this beautiful invention.

Nowadays, some people are trying to misuse the power of computers. There are hackers who attach a virus to some files or send phishing emails to multiple accounts. Once a user downloads these files or clicks on the website, the virus corrupts the machine and may hold important data for ransom. People, especially in the IT industry, are showing health problems due to excess use of computers. They sit in the same posture for hours, glued to their monitors which may cause eye strain, back and neck problems.

To summarize, I admit there are some problems while using computers but the pros outweigh the cons. With proper and safe computer practices, one can stay away from these disadvantages. All in all, computers are here to stay and undoubtedly an integral part of our lives.