Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In these days, there is a growing recognition that computer is well on its way becoming the most important inventions of humankind over the last decades. However, as for me, I side with the opinion that some other inventions other than computer are more worthy of being the most important invention.

Admittedly, although it is true that the computer's endeavor to make human's life more convenient should be recognized, especially in the field of entertainment and management, it has put our health at risk. There is mounting evidence that long immersion in technological devices such as computer would be conducive to myriads of health hazards, for example myopia and obesity. It is thus difficult to deny that the flourishing of computer may function as a facilitator of various health problems and diseases, which would more or less become a prerequisite for other issues related to finance and facilities.

We can consider other inventions apart from computer when it comes to the question which invention is the most important one. To take a brief example, inventions as simple as pen and paper should be recognized as the most important. The reasons for this is rooted in the fact that without pen and paper, humans could not store documents, explorations and knowledge of various fields. Accordingly, such knowledge are inaccessible for latter generations, and evolution would thus be impossible.

In conclusion, although computer represents many benefits, it should not be considered the most important invention. It would be more advisable for us to take into account other inventions, such as pen or paper.