As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Of late, a debate raged over the necessity of learning a language in the era of computers. Some people assert that learning a foreign language is useless due to the invention of computer technology, while others oppose this statement by justifying the value of learning a language. I believe that person should learn different languages rather than being dependent on the technology. This essay will discuss the reasons followed by a lucid conclusion.

First and foremost, there is the multifarious reason to justify the above-said statement. The preponderant one is learning a language provides a positive outcome for the brain development. learning language can increase the size of the brain and improve cognitive skills in the human being and rely on any technology can only damage the power of the brain. To exemplify this, Swedish scientists have done MRI scan to monitor the brain of the people who are bilingual and discovery reveal that that learning a foreign language has a visible effect on the brain.

In addition to this, it is irrefutable that computers are accurate, but they cannot be used everywhere. If a person will get dependent totally on the technology, it will become cumbersome for him to work in the absence of it. For instance, if a person is working in a remote area, where computers are unavailable, then it will be complicated to do work over there and communicate with the local persons.

To recapitulate, it is indeed true that benefits of the computer are manifold, but learning a second language is beneficial for the brain development and also to manage the tasks at the time of non-availability of the computers and other means of help.