Consumer behavior has changed considerably in recent years due to technology.

In what ways does technology affect consumer activities such as shopping?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is apparent that the customer bias has been transformed remarkably over the recent years by technological advancements. Especially, shopping business has changed to a traditional method to take place on the internet thanks to technology. In my point of view, it's advantages of transition overshadow many drawbacks.

The primary cause of changes is that the customer starts to pick up products on online shopping instead of the traditional market. Nowadays, almost all individuals are using smartphones to engage on social media. Shopping stores show all of their products on platforms such as: Tiktok, Facebook, Instagram, … make it easy for customers to find products for their needs instead of previous ways. For example, with Shoppee application, the consumer can access quickly to purchase goods but not spending too much time or transportation to get to the shops. Furthermore, customers have also searched with a variety of product sources , comparing the price and the shop evaluation on this platform.

The most prominent technology development to customer orientation is approachable and does not take too much effort for activities. In the past, buyers had to go to stores or markets to opt for their goods, currently, they just use smartphone connected internet to order their products.In addition, It saves time and effort for customers to adapt with their expectations. Take the pick up process, for example, customers have to ride vehicles to purchase their goods, and transport to many places to be able to find suitable goods. But if they order those products on the internet, they just need a device with a touch one.

In a nutshell, It is true that the customer approach has rectified significantly thanks to technological inventions, especially the transition from traditional ways to online shopping business. However, I firmly believe that the advantages of this change overweighs many disadvantages by easily approaching easier and less effort.