Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In contemporary world, individuals are inundated with various forms of advertising, from a range of companies competing with each other. I strongly believe that this trend significantly affects buyers, and that some solutions should be adopted to protect those consumers.

In my opinion, advertisements have some adverse effects on consumers. Firstly, because almost every company wants to attract customers in order to maximise their sales and profits, advertisements usually exaggerate the benefits of products. This advertising technique can be in the case of Apple's latest smartphone. Iphone 7 plus is nearly identical to its predecessor, however, was advertised to have exceptional features in order to be more competitively advantageous than its rival, Samsung Galaxy s7. Secondly, because the cost of advertising is often high, advertisements contribute to an increase in the price of products. For example, it is very expensive to have a commercial broadcast on television. Therefore, consumers would have to pay more money for the same items.

In my opinion, governments should impose strict censorship on all commercials in order to avoid consumers being exposed to false information. If the advertisement fails to honor the advertising effects, it would be termed as fraud. Manufacturing companies and marketing agents that violate the law will be heavily fined and banned from advertising on TV or the internet for certain periods. Systems that will monitor and manage advertising standards should be instituted. For example, shopping malls where companies try to advertise their goods and services everyday should be equipped with cameras. This can protect the consumers from being offended or aggressively seduced by the advertisers.

In conclusion, I would argue that a wide range of advertisements are seducing consumers to buy what they might be not in need of.Measures such as stricter censorship and supervising technologies can help protect those potential victims.