The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.

What are the causes of this continued rise?

Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

As the world evolves, it confronts with different challenges, especially population growth. Hence, while a question is arising about the rational justification behind it, a vigorous debate sparks over whether this growth is the utmost threat faced by humanity at contemporary times. This essay has the same sentiment exactly, and it will examine the reasons for this rise.

To begin with the causes, apparently, the root cause stems from the soaring rate of illiteracy. The prevalence of ignorance leads to an increase in the fertility rate, especially in developing countries. For example, in Upper Egypt, when rural dwellers have baby girls, they insist to have a boy, thereby endeavoring many times to have a male child, even though they have a large number of daughters. Moreover, as we live now in the informational era, technological advancement in medicine is a predominant factor resulting in a population explosion. To enumerate, scientific progress not only extends life expectancy but also reduces mortality.

By the same token, I concur that overpopulation poses a significant problem that takes an alarming trend. This is because overpopulation leads to disastrous impacts. Urban sprawl is one of these issues, which not only conduces to land degradation but also contributes to deforestation owing to establishing private residences to assimilate population explosion as well as alleviate densely populated areas. As a result, these negative implications have serious repercussion as they induce ecological catastrophe. However, if concerned authorities instigated draconian measures to decline overpopulation, the consequence would be efficacious.

In conclusion, both declining mortality and increasing fertility are the original rationales behind population growth. It seems to me that population growth is the greatest threat.