Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the development of international trade and mass production, people all over the world now can have the same access to various kinds of goods. As a result, they become similar, as they may wear same clothes, use identical electronic devices and eat same food. From my point of view, although this trend brings some convenience to humans' lives, its overall impact is detrimental.

It is undeniable that consuming same products can save people a lot of time. For example, fast food chains like KFC and Subway have become working people's first choice when having dinner on weekdays, as it is fast and people don't have to think too much about what to eat. As a consequence, they can finish eating quickly and then spend more time on their work, which helps them advance in their careers and even makes a contribution to social development.

However, the drawbacks of having too much same fast food shall never be overlooked. One of the negative impacts is many people are getting too much weight, which makes them liable to diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure. Also, people who enjoy the convenience of fast food are less likely to cook traditional cuisines. As a result, cultural diversity of a nation might diminish gradually.

In addition, with more people consuming more same products, those who remain loyalty to their preferred products may be regarded as odd individuals, just because their buying decision is standing out. This might lead to bullying in schools and discrimination in the workplace, and thereby causing the uncertainty of the society.

In sum, purchasing same products makes people's lives easy and save substantial amount of time, but it might also result in the diminishing of cultural diversity and the damage of harmonious society where people all respect each other's different choices when buying products.