As countries develop people tend to buy more and more cars Do you thing the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment

Nowadays, car owners have gone up dramatically in some countries. I firmly believe that the demerits of this trend brings exceed its merits.

On the one hand, there is an advantage for people who own their own car. To begin with, a personal vehicle allow people flexibility in commuting. To be more specific, it reduces the people's reliance on public transports and shared vehicles, which is time-taking for people who do not have their own vehicle. For example, if a person owns a personal car, they will not to stop for waiting buses or depend on shared mobility. As a result, the travel time greatly reduces and people tend to be more punctual.

However, I believe the positive aspects of this trend are eclipsed by more immediate threats to life by purchasing more and more cars. One detrimental problem, the increasing number of cars has contributed harmfully to the environment. In more detail, the more cars being purchased, the more emission emits by cars into the environment. According to a recent study, global emissions have been increased by 20%, since the increasing number of cars in the world. As a consequence, it results in the melting of ice caps and oceans. Another negative aspect is that human health can be affected by the increasing amount of car exhaust gases. In other words, car exhaust gases emit from fossil fuel cars, which cause many diseases by inhaling these gases. A recent study shows that people, who suffer from chronic lung disease, have climbed by 30% because daily exposure to gases, which emits from cars. Therefore, purchasing more vehicles can impact on health of people.

In conclusion, the demerits of this trend are clearly more significant. I believe that purchasing more personal cars may not only influence detrimentally on the ecosystem but also affect negatively people's health.