As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes.

Why does this happen?

How does this affect society?

Nowadays, there has been a sharp rise in living in smaller family units due to the development of many countries worldwide. This phenomenon is reckoned to take place owing to a variety of reasons and it also exerts positive impacts upon the society.

On the one hand, there are some major causes leading to smaller family sizes. Firstly, many developed countries apply the birth control policy because of the enhancement in medical clinics and distribution of free contraception. Secondly, youngsters are not expected to work but study hard to achieve good results and parents will earn money for their families. In fact, children of the modern era do much better than their earlier counterparts in schools and colleges. Finally, it has become more difficult to raise a big family as it costs too much to bring up children and take care of the elderly. Mothers and fathers have to supply their offspring with education, food, leisure as well as provide the old with healthcare services, meals, medicine.

On the other hand, the trend towards smaller family units has positive and pernicious effects on the society from an economic perspective. The ageing population would experience a constant decline since there would be fewer adolescents. Take an example of Japan, the rate of old population results in a raise in working elderly. However, there would be less poverty and competition for job opportunities and scarce resources.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of smaller family sizes are due to education, birth control and expenses and it has both adverse and useful influence on the society.