Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that while employees are experiencing exhausting workweeks, countries are making great steps toward economic success. This essay agrees that some developing countries with long working hours increase their industrial productivity and succeed in economy. This essay will first look at the differences in working hours between developed and developing countries and then discuss how long average working hours boost industrial productivity.

It is clear that people work shorter hours in developed countries than in developing countries. This attributes to the difference in the production technology. Thus the higher the technology level is, the higher the GDP per capita is, and the less there are of workers who supply labour. Hence, if particular developing country wants to overtake another one it need to increase working hours of employees. For instance, the United Nations Development Program released a report about developing countries in Africa that showed long hours Algerians spend working are indication that they contributed in production more than their rival countries in Africa.

Businesses working in manufacturing have some of the highest industry impact rates of economy of a country out of all economic sectors. Long working hours improve manufacturing productivity that is a key aspect of economic growth. Moreover, higher productivity leads to lower unit costs and higher profits. This is therefore positively influence on economic success of countries. For example, recent research revealed that there are two main measures factors of economic success. These are the GDP at the national level and profit at the organizational level.

In conclusion, working hours are longer in less developed countries due to lack of advanced technology. To be economically more successful such countries should increase working hours.