In countries where there is high unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that in a country with high employment where the labor market is fiercely competitive, only those who are academically able should further their education beyond the primary level. I completely disagree with this view for various reasons.

On the one hand, the primary academic record does not provide a full picture of a student’s ability. Students in their formative years rarely take studies and school work seriously enough to produce the kind of result which relatively reflect their academic abilities. Indeed, some intellectually spurt ahead only in their final year of secondary or college level, primary school results are therefore a poor indicator of student’s abilities. Therefore it is insensible and ill-conceived to decide for a student whether or not to continue their higher education merely based on his or her primary school record.

On the other hand, limiting higher education to students does not only aggravate the problem of employment but also circumspect careers and the future of students. In countries where unemployment is high, the increase in the number of unskilled and ill-educated workers inevitably leads to a mounting unqualified workforce either superfluous to manual occupations or unfitted to perform other higher demanding jobs. Furthermore, a society moving away from higher education will undermine students’ prospects of career and thus their future as they would not be equipped with enough knowledge and offered an environment supposedly to cultivate their academic potentials.

In conclusion, restricting students to primary education is not an appropriate approach to unemployment in any country. This retrograde step will have a detrimental effect both on the economy and students’ future.