Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

The era in which we are living has been exposed to an abundance of serious problems. And, one of the challenges to tackle is deterioration of the environment due to various reasons such as air pollution caused by cars. Although cycling is widely known for being eco-friendly compared to other means of transportation, it is not a favorite trend. This essay seeks to investigate the reasons behind this negative development, followed by a few proposed solutions.

There are a plethora of reasons as to why cycling is not popular these days. First and perhaps the most obvious cause is the impracticality of the bicycle in many conditions and situations. Cycling is most enjoyable when everything is perfect. However, almost everyone agrees that it is almost impossible and perhaps dangerous to ride it on rainy days or at night. Furthermore, bicycles are not utilized for long distances for they are neither a convenient means of long-distance transport due to their low speed nor as comfortable as modern cars. Secondly, cycling is a strenuous and demanding activity. Consequently, people need to possess a certain level of physical ability and fitness to be able to use them properly. For example, obese people are scarcely able to use cycles since the superfluous weight renders the task torturous.

While cycling has many flaws that make it disliked, there are a number of advantages that make encouraging the masses to use this practice a noble goal. First and foremost, the government should advertise the role of cycling as a mean of transportation that preserves the environment. People should be informed that using bicycles decreases the number of cars in the streets, hence reduces the emission gases from cars. Moreover, people should be taught regarding the health benefits of cycling. Secondly, authorities can take further steps such as building cycling hubs that provide free bicycles to the public in certain routes for a few hours, which can be very effective, especially considering the ever-growing price of fossil fuels. Last but not least, restricting car passage in some parts of the cities whereas allowing cyclists is another effective method to increase cycling’s popularity.

All in all, given the mentioned reasons, increasing the popularity of cycling is seemingly difficult. Nevertheless, it is feasible if the right methods and motivations such as educating the public about eco-advantages of cycling, offering free bicycle in some routes and limiting other vehicles, are used.