Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a lot of small, local shops that could not compete since the supermarket has grow and expand significantly in some countries. This make many people realize that local communities could go out due to the close down of local shops. I personally disagree with that thought and support the expansion of the supermarkets.

First of all, the local shops in some countries, especially in emerging countries, they could not produce commodity needs completely. They are still lack of resources and equipment to fulfill their production activities. For instance, in Indonesia, there are many housewives and restaurants that experience difficulties in finding hydroponic vegetables in local markets. Most of them tend to buy hydroponic products in the supermarkets or changing their alternative into organic products. This is an evidence that there is still a problem with our living and this could be improved with the establishment of supermarkets.

Subsequently, the growth of supermarkets could reduce the rate of unemployment. If there is a new supermarket, there will be a new job as well. Local citizens could work in the supermarket therefore there would be a decrease in unemployment rate. This could also improve each nation's economy so they could compete with other countries. As the economic of each country increases, the society could experience the rise of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) as well.

To sum up, the advancement of new supermarket will not give any burdens to local citizens. I strongly believe the growth and expansion of supermarkets could give many positive impacts to each countries.