The educational standards have declined in recent times particularly in the area of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the cause of this problem and odder some possible solution to it.

In recent years, the issue of decreasing education standards, especially in the fields of literacy and numeracy has become a pressing issue. people have been attaching greater weight to this problem, because it may give rise to a host of problems such as . this essay will explore this complicated phenomenon from diverse perspectives, identify the relevant contributing factors and bring up some effective solutions.

For a start, there is an array of integrated factors leading to this complex situation. The first contributing factor is the prevalence of spoon-feed education. As parents and schools all focus on the results of the students but not the knowledge they actually acquired, students tend to memorize all the steps of calculation or the impressive sayings from famous authors rather than learn the theories of meanings. As a result, the expectation of education become lower and lower. Another major factor is the requirements of public examination. The education bureau have formulated a list of topics that will be asked in the exam, which result in a situation that people who are doing education become restricted and only teach the knowledge from the above list. thus, it limits students’ learning abilities and the education standards as students are manipulated under the education system.

Confronted with such a thorny issue, people come up with a variety of constructive countermeasures. first of all, the government should bear the brunt of this issue. The education department should adopt a measure that allows teacher to have their own teaching style by just giving serval guidelines of the contents to encourage student learn in an interesting environment and let them more eager to study. Moreover, it is of paramount importance that parents should be educated not to force their children in memorizing but give some motivation for them to explore new knowledge and thus enhance the education standards.

By and large, it is generally believed that without immediate and effective solutions, the problem of declining education standards will undoubtedly deteriorate. it is hence high time for government specifically to take the initiative before it gets worse. As it should be, parents need to make concerted efforts too.