Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion

While being interviewed for a position, prospective employees are likely to be asked about personal details such as their passion and marital status. There are those propounding the idea that such inquiries may be of value for the company in question. Others, however, take the opposing view. There are cogent arguments on both sides of the discussion, which will be presented in detail, followed by my own perspective on the controversy.

On the one hand, advocates of this policy assert that knowing about the staff, employers are able to make judicious decisions when necessary. In other words, this background knowledge can be employed astutely to launch bonus schemes for diligent and dedicated employees whose efforts deserve to be acknowledged and acclaimed. For instance, if a manager is aware that some of his staff members are passionate about sports, they can opt for free tickets to a sports event as an added incentive. Apart from that, both employers and the people working for them can build up a good rapport if they know each other as people rather than professionals. More specifically, they may even find a great deal of common ground.

On the other hand, others may simply interpret this as the very epitome of invasion of privacy. To clarify, a large number of people feel uncomfortable when they have to share any personal information about certain aspects of their life that they wish to keep to themselves. This is amply illustrated by a particular incident in one’s past such as a bitter divorce, which anyone might be reluctant to talk about especially when first encounters are concerned. Moreover, job seekers are likely to fear that they might be judged based on their background rather than their professional and marketable skills. This is rational since first impressions have a profound impact on how people form a lasting opinion about others’ character.

To conclude, there are reasonable points on both sides; on balance, however, I believe that any piece of information irrelevant to the professional context should not be sought. This is mainly because the vast majority of people are unwilling to confide in total strangers and also they are afraid of judgmental interpretations