Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that some particular sports which can be life-threatening should be banned, whilst there are myriad people who do them to experience the thrilling adventure. Dangerous sports are always considered risky for humans but if we look at the experts performing them, everyone gets fascinated by them. Although I completely disagree with the statement, some actions must be taken in the favour of these extreme sports.

First of all, it is completely true that sports such as sky diving and skiing test the extremities of humans and can be life-threatening. In the past, many have lost their lives also. But that does not mean that a ban should be imposed. If we carefully look upon the past incidents, all these failures are either due to lack of proper equipments or their quality. Nowadays, with the advancement in material science, these problems have been ameliorated to a great extent. For instance, living in today's world, I have never read an obituary of a person who was killed by performing some extreme sports. Instead, I have read many accidents, but all are saved by the current status of equipments they use. Today the equpiments used in sky diving like a parachute and its strings is almost impossible to break/tear and the same goes with skiing with better dynamics of skies comes better control over it.

Secondly, banning these sports activities will destroy the livelihood of numerous people conducting them and slows down the development of such locations as well. Furthermore, it is curiosity and fascination that let anyone perform these sports. Research has shown that stoping a person's curiosity or not letting that person doing some particular tasks will not be helpful. The Government imposing a ban on these sports will surely lead to illegal activities as people will not stop. So, why impose a ban, why not regulate it instead?

To conclude, I completely disagree with the opinion that a ban needs to be imposed on some dangerous sports. However, with the advancement in science and material, the risk factor has been alleviated. The regulating authorities should regulate all these extreme sport instead of putting a ban.