Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

With the advent of technological advances, it is now possible for an array of individuals to participate in the film-making industry. From my perspective, this development will bring about both pros and cons.

On the one hand, this change in film-making workforces is likely to promote the development of the film industry and creating profits to individuals. Concerning the growth of the film industry, the fact that people could produce a film tends to arise competitiveness with large firms. As a result, what results from this competitiveness is to stimulate enterprises with hands-on experiences to give priorities for filming high-quality movies, which, in turn, will strengthen the explosive growth of the film sector. Additionally, individuals participating in film-making are inclined to earn a living. In practice, movies produced by individuals tend to air an opinion or mirror the current trends of society. This up-to-the-minute content is mighty to result in high views, which is likely to help movie makers to earn supplement income.

On the other hand, this development could have a detrimental effect on the young. To begin with, films produced by individuals might severely affect the young’s viewpoints. Take Vietnam as a prime example, children’s inappropriate behaviours stemming from watching short movies produced by individuals are now becoming uncontrollably. This is because filmmakers usually upload the complete production on social media and their youtube channel, which is quite challenging for the legal authorities to have a vigorous check. Consequently, those movies with violent or anti-government contents are still inherent in social media that might nurture the offsprings with aggressive behaviours.

In conclusion, the breakthroughs and devices of cutting-edge technology have been providing people with a plethora of precious opportunities to produce a film. It is my firm conviction that this transformation is likely to result in both advantages and downsides.