Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Fresh water is a basic need for people to live. Nowadays fresh water shortage can feel not only some countries in Africa, it became a global issue for developed world as well. This essay will discuss what causes increased demand and what government and humans could do to solve this problem.

First of all, one of the cause for shortage of fresh water is that meat industry requires huge amounts of water to grow animals for meat production. For example, 1 kg of beef requires hundred times more water than crops. Secondly, water is highly polluted by clothing industries. For instance, clothes colouring chemicals goes straight into rivers including ground water. There exist a lot more industries not only food and clothing production causing fresh water shortage.

Individuals and government can be great power to stop industries and big corporations from disaster happening. For environment would help if people start to transform into vegan lifestyle and would choose plant-based diet, which is much more environmental friendly and sustainable by all means. Moreover, government also could play a huge role in helping to solve fresh water demand. For example, if government would introduce tax on meat products people accordingly would consume less meat. As a result, if these actions would be taken it possibly could protect from shortage of fresh water.

In conclusion, none can survive without water therefore this problem needs to be considered by everyone. Many things can be done to help to prevent from fresh water shortage on our everyday basis.