In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to modern technology, people are able to read newspapers and books online. Therefore, there is an opinion that in the future, no one will buy their printed versions, as everything on the internet is free. In this essay, I will argue that I disagree with the statement, since traditional paper is still prosperous and online contents could be charged in the forthcoming time.

Firstly, paying attention to written lines or stories is always more comfortable than enjoying them on modern reading devices like smartphones or laptops. This is quite understandable, because unlike traditional paperwork, there are too many things on these gadgets that can cause disturbance to readers, such as email pop-ups or incoming calls. Furthermore, reading offline books or newspapers is better for human eyes. Instead of spending time in front of a screen scrolling down e-books on a cell phone, turning a newspaper page by page has a dramatically lower chance to cause optic problems.

Another point I want to make clear is, e-books or articles in the future might not be free. Take The Economist, for example. In order to read this magazine online, readers must pay an amount of money monthly called “subscription fee”, which is sometimes not cheap. Or some providers may introduce a “trial” to their products. An internet user can read a part of an article for free, but a fee will also be included if he wants to read the rest of it. This is more inconvenient than purchasing books from a local store at a more affordable price.

In conclusion, due to their comfort and suitability, there will always be people who buy printed newspapers and magazines in the future.