Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment What causes global warming What solutions are there for this problem

With increasing human population and extensive use of natural resources, pollution is being caused at a higher rate than ever before. This pollution has led to a major threat that the world faces known as global warming. Global warming is a result of release of ozone depleting gases released from various sources. Humans should find better ways to combat global warming with advanced research in this field.

Global warming became much more prevalent after the industrial era. Firstly, activities such as deforestation and large-scale agriculture have released tremendous amounts of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Ozone layer which protects us from the direct sunlight is being depleted due to this. Secondly, burning of fossil fuels for energy, especially in factories and vehicles, releases gases like carbon-dioxide and carbon-monoxide which are harmful both to the humans and nature. Thirdly, melting the polar ice caps release the most carbon-dioxide and this also is a cause of rising sea-levels which threatens the low-lying coastal areas. Many species are being forced to travel to temperate regions due to warmer climate in the tropical regions and plantations are being affected as well.

Every human-being must come forward to stop global warming. Countries like Sweden and Norway have implemented strict laws that heavily tax industries causing carbon emission and provide credits to those adopting clean and green approaches. Other governments should implement such reforms. Laws should be made to encourage the use of renewable energy sources like wind, solar, tidal and hydro-electric by incentivizing the consumers. Moreover, car companies like Tesla have designed cars that run on clean energy and perform better than gas vehicles. In addition to this, India has developed an efficient way of utilizing the bio-waste like cow dung, sewage remnants to produce bio-gas which is used for cooking and is now exporting this technology to nearby countries.

Global warming is cited as the biggest threat to nature and environment by the United Nations. It has been caused mainly due to unplanned human activities but know that we have enough knowledge on its ill-effects, we must ensure that suitable steps are taken to minimize the effects of global warming. Preventing forest fires and adopting renewable energy sources is a first step in this direction.