Global Warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measure can government and individuals take to tackle the issue?

The world has long been facing a deleterious problem of global warming and many experts have clearly stated some rooted issues causing the problem. I would like to, in this essay, emphasise one primary reason underlying the global phenomenon. Then, after explaining the fundamental cause, I will attempt to provide preventive steps that government can do to combat the problem.

To begin with, I assume that the earth's warming is led by excessive carbon emission in the air, deriving from various sources, such as transportation and electricity. On one side, the incessant increase of transport vehicle using fossil fuel brings adverse effects to the environment, which is in some parts of countries exacerbated by the unreadiness of public transport infrastructure. On another side, electricity consumption is unavoidably ramping up due to the population hike. As a majority of the energy sources come from gasoline and coal, the more they are consumed, the more polluted the environment will be, thus aggravating the current global warming condition.

To alleviate the problem, I suggest that the state government be active in formulating policies to reduce unrenewable source use for transportation and electricity. In the transport sector, public mass transport can be one of the practical ways for the purpose, which has an immediate impact on the emission decrease. Additionally, the promotion of electric cars can also be tried with the accompanying policy to support the smooth shift from conventional to fossil-free cars, such as tax reduction for those purchasing electric cars. Furthermore, concerning electricity consumption, the government can gradually switch to renewable energy, for example, sourcing from sunshine and water stream. Although I am aware of the minor issue of the energy sources, like their intermittent characteristic, scientists will definitely figure it out to rectify the issue.

All in all, carbon is the main source of global warming and focusing on its use reduction will bring a positive and immediate impact on the environment. However, the sole action from the government is insufficient to address the problem and solid engagement with other stakeholders are inevitably necessary. I am optimistic that the world will have a better environment in the future with such a collaborative measure.