The government should offer free prenatal classes for expecting parents. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that parents-to-be should be given a parenting class of no cost which is provided by the government. I strongly agree with this statement because many parents are first-timers with no familial support and this will help them without financial burden.

Many young parents need parenting classes because they are inexperienced and they do not have support from the family as compared before. In the past, grandparents usually teach and guide those family members who are about to become parents to ensure a safe pregnancy, complication-free birth and effective parenting. But now, the family unit is composed of mainly nuclear members where no support received from the extended family and causes additional stress to expectant parents. This is one of the reasons why it is beneficial if states should provide parenting courses. For example, a recent study conducted in the Philippines found that 55% attended prenatal sessions in 2018 because they have no familial support as compared with 15% in 1990.

Many parents that need government support come from backgrounds where finances are tight. This is to say that they cannot afford to enrol to such classes because their resources are limited. The money that they have will be allotted to more important things which are essential in life, such as food, shelter, and clothing. If the state will provide free prenatal courses, expectant mothers and fathers will be able to participate without having any financial problem. As a result, a huge number of parents will be attracted to attend this course, especially those who belong to the low socioeconomic group. For instance, the Department of Health in our country conducts free parenting lesson in poor areas every month.

In conclusion, classes about parenthood should be offered freely by the states to the parents-to-be because the vast majority of them are first-timers and do not receive any assistance from extended family and this can help them without spending money.