Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When governments confront decision making situations in order to bring the most benefits to community, many things they should concern including the plans, costs, and outcomes. In a given situation, governments should project with a given budget to develop on either railroads or roads. This essay will discuss why investment in railways will be more efficient than roads in economic and social perspectives.

On one hand, approaching with an economic perspective to the project of building railroads will bring more benefits to society. In respects of multiplier effects, the amount of investment in a project proposed by a government will bring much more output than its input. For example, if 100 million dollars were invested on railways, it will eventually create jobs in planning and construction, then, transportation services. Which the government can get returns from of the projects by imposing personal income taxes and value-added taxes on the raw materials and services. Not to mention, the community will have bigger cashflow near the construction areas such as restaurants and accommodations. Therefore, governments are possible to seek potential incomes than the budget spends on the project.

On the other hand, in a social aspect toward the project on roads, there are many factors driving the limitations of investments in roads. It is commonly known as the uniqueness of the geographical characteristic of Australia, which is low population but broaden distribution, people rather take public transportations such as flights and trains rather than driving vehicles for 6 hours. According to the Australian Bureau of statistics, only 15% of roads tend to have traffic jams and which are in urban areas. Moreover, driving vehicles are a danger at night due to nocturnal wild animals such as kangaroos and koalas. For instance, the rate of roadkill in Australia is much higher than any other countries, which exposure the dangerous of driving in Australia. However, if the railroads are built, then people will rather use the trains rather than driving own vehicles.

In conclusion, it is obvious that governments to spend the budget on railroads than roads are more efficient. For both economic and social potential advantages are predicted much more efficiently by the project on railroads, rather than the project on roads. Therefore, governments must concern the outputs as mentioned above to make a better decision for the community.