With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of online digital media. This argument seems to relate to the influence of increased online digital media on the role of library in universities. This writing will take a social perspective to discuss this issue.

In the current society, there is a common perception that universities should continue to update their textbooks in the library despite the increased digital media available online. Under the assumption that textbooks are more traditional form of learning material, it is reasonable to state that they are more easily accessible by people regardless of age, meaning that there is astill a need for universities to update their textbooks. Following this reasoning, there is convincing evidence that continuous updating textbooks in university libraries is worthwhile on society.

Along with this, the opposing perspective should also be recognized. Considering the idea that the current society is a technological era allowing people possess their personal devices, it is quite acceptable to say that people prefer to seek information through electronic forms, leading to the fact that it reduces the need for physical textbooks. However, this aspect seems to be limited in that it only applies to the minority of society. Hence, it is quite abvious that the idea of the reduced need for physical textbooks appears to be less convincing.

Upon thorough analysis, depite the reduced need for physical textbooks, the fact that it only applies to the minority of society was more important. Hence, it can be elicited that university libraries should continue to update their textbooks regardless the increased digital media available online.