Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that governors have to allocate more budget for expanding railways than roads. I strongly agree with the point of view as societies can benefit from reducing traffic congestion as well as air pollution in their habitants.

First of all, spending money on rail ways can alleviate traffic jams in cities which have this problem. This is because of the improvements of public transportation which is a significant impact of expanded railways. Although many people prefer driving their own cars than use public transportation, a good and developed public transport system can encourage them to use it more. So, the number of cars in streets and roads would be decreased and the possibility of traffic jams will be diminished. To illustrate it, despite the huge number of people who travel daily between Tehran and Karaj, traffic congestion in the roads has been reduced since the railways between these two cities was expanded, however in the past these people used to lose their time in extreme traffic congestions.

Moreover, reducing air pollution is another major benefit from expanding railways schemes as it can lead to better public transportation and less cars in streets. the less cars people use, the less greenhouse gases can be produced. Since it is said by experts that decrease in the amount of produced greenhouse gases from cars is the key point for tackling air pollution problem, any plan which leads to decline the usage of cars such as expanded railways instead of roads can be really beneficial.

In conclusion, spending money on railways by governments is a perfect attitude which has significant impacts on improving public transportation and can lead to tackle the problem of traffic congestion and air pollution.