Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The economic growth of a country is ensured with the help of multiple sectors of the government such as manufacturing, infrastructure, transportation, imports, and exports. Among these sectors, the apex share is held by transportation which makes life more sophisticated. I completely agree with the statement, the government should allot more budget to pave and maintain railways than to roads.

Railways aren’t a form of transportation medium that only carries massive frights and aids in connecting remote locations within a country. Nevertheless, the crowded metropolitan cities like Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore in India have been successful in equipping intercity rail and metro routes that have proven to be extremely beneficial to their inhabitants. These are some well-known advantages of railways including electric trains which has a minimal environmental impact, higher-good and passenger-carrying capacity, cost-effective transportation for low-wage workers.

By contrast, people always have some unpleasant memories by road travel, especially in recent times most cities are packed and roads are always overcrowded with vehicles. Reasons, why road transport shall not be appropriate for most countries, are higher price per distance travelled compared to railways, unprecedented hike in petrol and diesel price, traffic during peak working hours, as well as the notorious noise and air pollution which raised global activists concern.

To conclude, the government and policymakers ought to focus on controlling detrimental side effects of road transport by decreasing the funding, thereby the budget can be diverted into the railway industry for building better environment and people friendly railways.